OSX Lion package for Spyder (i.e. Matlab for Python)

Posted on February 9, 2012

0


tl;dr: spyder for osx10.7 package (requires pyside+qt to be installed)

I’ve been mucking around with generating actual apps in python. Turns out it’s pretty difficult!
My original goal was to create a standalone mac app from Spyder, the scientific development environment for python. The idea would be to create a “real” mac app with no external dependancies – everything included in the bundle.

Sadly it’s not as easy as I hoped, but I did manage a middle ground. Using bdist_mpkg I was able to generate a .pkg file of spyder for osx10.7 package . This will install spyder to /Library/Python/2.7/site-packages and so make it available to any python version you have installed (at least that worked for me, i can import it from both Apple python and EPD).

For it to run you will need to install PySide (python QT bindins) and QT itself. Make sure you get the correct version of pyside for your qt! Both of these install very easily from package files. (Don’t let anyone tell you it’s easier to use MacPorts. It Isn’t!)

Posted in: Uncategorized