Message in a bottle

Posted on July 9, 2009

0


I once heard an all too true comment on writing for the web: It's like writing a little message, putting it in a bottle, and throwing out into an ocean made of little messages in little bottles.
But I shall not despair. I have decided that I have things worth saying. A somewhat arrogant thought for sure, but nevertheless I think that a post here and there won't go astray, and maybe someone somewhere will be intrigued.
There is another reason too: lately I've been catching myself commenting on blogs. Sadly, they were not very important blogs.
Let me explain.
I have, somewhat against my will, become interested in open source software. I say against my will, because in a strange mental paradox I find the subject interesting enough that I will spend time reading news posts about people developing random bits of software I'm unlikely ever to use, but at the same time I recognise that this activity is futile and more generally that there are far more important things in the world than exactly who makes your programs, and how. And so reading and commenting on these blogs is, by extension, something of a pointless waste of time. Maybe it's my equivalent of reading sports pages or something similar. Its light entertainment, something where basically the worse news is really not that bad in the grand scheme of things.
I digress.
The point I'm trying to make is that it's time to start commenting on things that are more important and close to my heart. Things like life, politics, and the environment. So, to dredge up a computer cliche:
Hello World.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Posted in: Uncategorized